From Amsterdam to North America. Can I get in?

• This has become our largest and most active forum because the physics GRE is just one aspect of getting accepted into a graduate physics program.
  • There are applications, personal statements, letters of recommendation, visiting schools, anxiety of waiting for acceptances, deciding between schools, finding out where others are going, etc.

Coco

From Amsterdam to North America. Can I get in?

Post by Coco » Fri Aug 10, 2007 3:46 pm

Hi there,

I am a Peruvian student who is currently doing a M.Sc. in Theoretical Physics at the University of Amsterdam (the program is entirely in English.) I am doing my thesis in the string theory group, under the supervision of one of its professors. I am thinking of applying to Ph.D. programs in the US and Canada and I just realized today that the last date this year to take the GRE subject is in November! I thought it was in December. That means that I only have 3 months to prepare for the GRE General and Subject!

Here are some of my qualifications:

- Grade: 8.5 / 10 (honors)
- TOEFL: 270 (computer-based)
- Research Experience: master thesis in black holes in string theory.
- Courses taken: QFT, CFT, String Theory, Mathematical Methods, Theoretical Cosmology, General Relavity.
- Two summer schools attended in Trieste and Utrecht
- The letters of recommendation will be from three world-renowned string theorists who work in Amsterdam.

The schools I am thinking to apply to are:

- US: Berkeley, Santa Barbara, Stony Brook, MIT, Austin, Rutgers, Brown.
- Canada: Waterloo, Western Ontario (these two in order to be able to do the research at the Perimeter Institute) and Toronto.