A question about GPA

• This has become our largest and most active forum because the physics GRE is just one aspect of getting accepted into a graduate physics program.
  • There are applications, personal statements, letters of recommendation, visiting schools, anxiety of waiting for acceptances, deciding between schools, finding out where others are going, etc.

dunecastle

A question about GPA

Post by dunecastle » Tue Jul 24, 2007 12:12 pm

Hello everyone, I'm new to this forum and I need your help.
I'm now an undergraduate student majored in optics, and I'm going to apply for a 2008 fall graduate program.A trouble frustrated me often is my self-positioning: I have a relatively strong research background, I began my research since my junior and have posted several journal papers, 3 of them are of SCI(2nd author), but so poor is my academic record that I only got an average GPA, and some of the important curriculum like physics experiments are just C. My question is, with my background, is there any chance for me to get into a"top" ranked graduate programs?I'm going to take physics GRE this Nov., if I got a high grade(like above 900), will this compensate those poor grades?
Thanks for your help.

schmit.paul

Post by schmit.paul » Thu Jul 26, 2007 1:04 am