Confused international student!

• This has become our largest and most active forum because the physics GRE is just one aspect of getting accepted into a graduate physics program.
  • There are applications, personal statements, letters of recommendation, visiting schools, anxiety of waiting for acceptances, deciding between schools, finding out where others are going, etc.

bookworm

Confused international student!

Post by bookworm » Thu Feb 22, 2007 6:00 pm

Hi! I just found this forum... I am a senior student at the No 1 university of my country studying Applied Physics with extra subjects of Theoretical physics... I am taking next year off so I just recently started searching for grad schools... I want to get a Phd in astronomy...
However I am really confused! My GPA will probably be around 7.5 on a scale of 10, which translates to 3.0 for you americans! In my school, my GPA is considered good, no one gets more than 8.5, but I read many posts here saying that not even a 3.6 is a good GPA! Enter panic! :shock:
So what I want to know is do I have any chance of admission in a good university in US? Do you need to have a stellar GPA to go to grad school? Also, how hard is the GRE Physics test? How much should I study? Could a good score in the GRE make up for my 'low' GPA?
Thanks!

dan1234

Post by dan1234 » Thu Feb 22, 2007 6:14 pm

I think the admissions commitees generally put your grades into context (if they're familiar with your undergrad institution), i.e. if your GPA is good for your school, then the commitee will know this and you won't be penalized.

Personally, I would say that the individual questions on the GRE are generally pretty easy. The test is difficult because you need to answer so many questions in such a short time! Studying a bit (a lot?) is useful because it will help you become more familiar with the test's types of questions and you'll be able to work through it more quickly.

-Dan

soluyanov

Post by soluyanov » Thu Feb 22, 2007 8:05 pm