Do I have a shot / Is it worth the time applying?

• This has become our largest and most active forum because the physics GRE is just one aspect of getting accepted into a graduate physics program.
  • There are applications, personal statements, letters of recommendation, visiting schools, anxiety of waiting for acceptances, deciding between schools, finding out where others are going, etc.

microacg

Do I have a shot / Is it worth the time applying?

Post by microacg » Sat Mar 03, 2012 3:11 pm

I looked through examples of 2012 applicants and how they are doing, but I didn't find any who have the same situation as me, so I can't tell if I will be able to get into a physics doctoral program or not. Here is a summary of my candidacy so far:

- I am currently studying for the Physics GRE so I'm hoping to do well (it might be very necessary given the rest of my application)

- I also need to take the regular GRE, which I'm obviously hoping to do well in (my SAT composite was 1450/1600 in ~2002 and I would expect roughly comparable results)

- I have a masters already, but it is in science education (my gpa is almost a perfect 4.0 at least...)

- I have no research experience (thinking this is very bad; I DO have experience as an undergraduate TA, as well as high school teaching experience)

- I haven't kept in touch with any professors from my bachelors (graduated in 2007) so getting academic letters of recommendation (aside from my advisor from my education masters who I did a mini thesis with) will be difficult. I could easily get professional letters of recommendation from school administrators, etc, but I don't think they are sufficient.

- My undergraduate GPA was 3.44 (double major in physics and science education at university of Maryland, college park).

- My math GPA was 3.78

- My physics GPA was 3.27 (double majoring with education really killed my focus on some of my physics class, internships/etc made it harder)