Teach for America - teaching before grad school??

• This has become our largest and most active forum because the physics GRE is just one aspect of getting accepted into a graduate physics program.
  • There are applications, personal statements, letters of recommendation, visiting schools, anxiety of waiting for acceptances, deciding between schools, finding out where others are going, etc.

mhazelm

Teach for America - teaching before grad school??

Post by mhazelm » Thu Dec 18, 2008 4:07 pm

Hi everyone,

I've been considering deferring my grad school plans for 2 years to do the Teach for America thing, esp. with my mediocre GRE scores. I have thought a lot about it, and am still not sure - there are pros and cons. But I think teaching high school physics for 2 years might actually help strengthen the GRE score, since it will cement the basic principles that the PGRE tests. At the same time, I don't want to lose all my upper division specialized knowledge - I am sure that in 2 years I could forget how to solve PDEs, or forget about the band theory of solids, or relativistic electrodynamics (not to mention my research skills) etc. So I'm wondering - has anyone done Teach for America to teach high school physics, and then gone off to grad school in physics? Any thoughts on this topic?

Helio

Re: Teach for America - teaching before grad school??

Post by Helio » Thu Dec 18, 2008 8:34 pm

From what i know UWash gives you two years off if you do Teach for America

On another note, i think the benefits outweigh the risks. strengthening your fundamentals can only help if you are going to the advanced stuff. it will come back to you revise the stuff for the PGRE and in general. there is always the suggestion to start tutoring to prepare for the PGRE, and Teach for America would be better than just tutoring. Also you will have teaching experience, which will help you as well on the application

muonman

Post by muonman » Thu Dec 18, 2008 10:35 pm