I am a Grad Recruitment/Admissions Chair - Ask me anything

• This has become our largest and most active forum because the physics GRE is just one aspect of getting accepted into a graduate physics program.
  • There are applications, personal statements, letters of recommendation, visiting schools, anxiety of waiting for acceptances, deciding between schools, finding out where others are going, etc.

AdamHauser

I am a Grad Recruitment/Admissions Chair - Ask me anything

Post by AdamHauser » Wed Nov 22, 2017 11:11 pm

Hi there!

My name is Adam Hauser, I am a condensed matter experimentalist at the University of Alabama, and the chair of our Graduate Recruitment (and admissions) Committee. I did my undergraduate work at Rutgers University, went to The Ohio State University for my PhD, and then spent three years as an Elings Postdoctoral Fellow at UC Santa Barbara before taking a faculty job here in Tuscaloosa.

Please feel free to ask me any questions you may have, most likely about the recruitment and admissions process, but since I declared AMA, I suppose I can't stop you from asking other things. If you would like my *general* opinion on your admissions package but do not wish to be publicly poked at, feel free to send me a private message and I can give you some thoughts. Please keep in mind that these thoughts are my own and do not represent my department or my university, are probably wrong, and only a fool would rely on them. But I am hoping I can help some people as deadlines loom and stress levels rise.

As a shameless plug, I will say that due to strong funding increases here we are aggressively seeking applicants in experimental particle physics (or experimental high energy physics, depending on what you call it at your school), so please take a look at and feel free to contact our faculty in that area if you are interested in this field.

I look forward to seeing your questions.

AdamHauser