From Mechanical engineering to Physics

ananthu

From Mechanical engineering to Physics

Post by ananthu » Mon Jun 06, 2016 5:19 pm

Hi Guys,

I'm a mechanical engineer from India.My passion was to pursue physics and life long ambition to become a theoretical physics, but,due to unforeseen circumstances i couldn't. Although,I've have an eng. degree, I have a strong understanding of physics at UG level.But I later came into realization that, taking masters from a different field is difficult and some universities may not accept it.So what are the requirements that i should fulfill to take MS in physics for a person from an eng. background? In addition to General GRE ,should I take the physics GRE too? and what are the cutoff marks in physics GRE for a decent university?
When I searched quite a few university websites,I found out that most universities only offered direct Phd admissions from UG degree in the US. Although I'm comfortable with the prospect of pursuing a Phd in Physics, is there any university that offers MS in Physics alone for someone from an engineering field? and can you please outline any other requirements that could maximize my chances of my admission? Will strong letters of recommendation from my professors(Phd from IIT) and Statement of Purpose help in this regard? I do Acknowledge my chances of getting in the top 20 even with a 900+ for PGRE is bleak for an international candidate.So I wouldn't mind compromising with the top 20s,but can i atleast make it to the top 50s?

any advice/suggestions would be highly appreciated.

bunnysid

Re: From Mechanical engineering to Physics

Post by bunnysid » Tue Jun 07, 2016 12:00 am