Engineering to Physics

nafiz

Engineering to Physics

Post by nafiz » Wed Dec 25, 2013 12:46 pm

I am a student from Bangladesh majoring in Industrial and Production Engineering. I am in 1st year. Though I study Engineering, I love Physics so much. It always fascinates me. It is much too beautiful to be ignored.It is a beautiful journey in which I want to take part. I always dream to be a physicist someday. After finishing my undergraduate study in Engineering, I want to pursue higher education in physics. I want to do my MS/PHD in Engineering Physics.I know I lack the necessary knowledge of a physics major, so I will try to compensate for that by taking online courses (thanks to Coursera,Edx ) and taking some additional courses in my university on Quantum Mechanics,Electromagnetism etc. I will also take the Physics GRE exam and try to obtain good marks in it. Is it enough to fulfil my dream? Everyone please help. I don't want my dream to die. Please help me.What should I do to turn my dream into reality?

TakeruK

Re: Engineering to Physics

Post by TakeruK » Wed Dec 25, 2013 2:59 pm

I am not sure how your school works, but if you are still in your first year, can you switch to either Engineering Physics or Physics major? That will probably be the biggest thing you can do to help you pursue your dream now!

quizivex

Post by quizivex » Thu Dec 26, 2013 7:10 am

This thread was moved to the more appropriate subforum: “Transitioning to Physics from a non-physics field