Physics after Computer Enginnering??

sumit.agarwal3

Physics after Computer Enginnering??

Post by sumit.agarwal3 » Wed Nov 12, 2008 3:49 am

Hi Friends,
I am a software engineer working in Mumbai, India. I have done my under graduation in computer science in India. With my 1.5 years of IT experience, I have realized that I would like to pursue my graduation and even PHD in physics. I wanted to know about the challenges that I would face in doing so, as for the last 5 years I have been associated with computer engineering and have not been remotely associated with physics. Theory of relativity and quantum mechanics have always excited me, and I would like to pursue a study on the same. Please let me know if its possible for a software professional to get into physics. If yes, then what should be my immediate steps. Should I take GRE or the subject GRE. I just needed some sort of a guidance from you for the next 6 months or which would help me improve myself to the extent that I can work in physics. Keenly awaiting your guidance.
Thanks.

secander2!

Re: Physics after Computer Enginnering??

Post by secander2! » Wed Nov 12, 2008 5:15 am

First off... please avoid posting the same topic in five different places, it's a little annoying to the users of the board. I think this topic belongs best in the "Prospective Physics Graduate Student Topics", so I will respond to it here :D

I think physics graduate school is a really great goal. I know somebody else who made the transition from computer science to theoretical physics so it definitely can be done. To study, he used the "Feynman Lectures" and the "Practicing to take the Physics Test 3rd edition".