From being a Software engineer to Ph D in Astrophysics/Cosmology

partha_pratim

From being a Software engineer to Ph D in Astrophysics/Cosmology

Post by partha_pratim » Tue Nov 28, 2017 1:31 am

Hello folks,

This is my first post and all your thoughts and suggestions are very much required. Please don't ignore. Firstly, I would talk a bit about my background :

1. B. Tech in Information Technology from an esteemed University in India. (One of the NITs) with 3.98 GPA (as per US evaluation)
2. MS in MIS from the University of Arizona in Tucson, 3.5 GPA
3. Around 10 years of strong software development experience in the Industry.
4. While pursuing MS in MIS, I used to work as a research assistant with a professor and because of the nature of my work I have co-authored in three publications that have been cited at many places.
5. Had Engineering Physics in undergrad along with three courses on engineering math and numerical methods spanning first three semesters.
6. 88/100 in Physics and 96/100 in Math in CBSE Board exams (HIgh school grad exam in India)

Space science/ Cosmology has always been of great interest to me and I strongly feel I should go to academia and get a Ph.D. and get involved in research henceforth. I have closely followed lectures on Coursera/Udemy and also looked at few course videos (MIT) for a long time, attended multiple lecture/programs organized by NASA in the San Francisco Bay Area (where I am currently). The software industry job is lucrative but not something that I find greatly attracted to or intellectually stimulating. Also, I have found that my background in software will help me as a majority of the research in Cosmology is in the analysis of huge data sets and finding interesting trends. It may sometime revolve around writing own algorithms or software models to interpret certain data findings.