Did not waive right to access the LoRs. How bad can it do?

cedricyu803

Did not waive right to access the LoRs. How bad can it do?

Post by cedricyu803 » Sun Nov 03, 2013 7:26 am

Hi all

I am an international undergrad,
applying to Physics PhD programs of some US universities, including some top- and some mid-ranked ones.

When I chose the option whether to waive right to access the LoRs, I was unaware of the impact it may pose. So I chose no.

Two of my referees have already submitted their LoRs. So it is unlikely it can be changed.

Now I know this option can affect the confidentiality of the letters and give adcom bad impression.

I fear that it ruins my LoRs, especially one of my referees is well-known in the field I am applying to.
I understand that there is not much I can do now,

But how bad can it do if one considers applications to top-tiers, given that my other aspects such as GPA, PGRE and research experience are good?

Should I mention this in my SoP and explain that I was unaware of this issue?

WhoaNonstop

Re: Did not waive right to access the LoRs. How bad can it do?

Post by WhoaNonstop » Sun Nov 03, 2013 10:46 am

cedricyu803 wrote:But how bad can it do if one considers applications to top-tiers, given that my other aspects such as GPA, PGRE and research experience are good?

Generally, I don't think it's a good idea to spend any time writing about anything unless you can put a good spin on it. I wouldn't waste space explaining this "mishap" when you can use all that space to show how awesome you are.

-Riley

admissionprof

Post by admissionprof » Sun Nov 03, 2013 1:27 pm

cedricyu803 wrote:Hi all

I am an international undergrad,
applying to Physics PhD programs of some US universities, including some top- and some mid-ranked ones.

When I chose the option whether to waive right to access the LoRs, I was unaware of the impact it may pose. So I chose no.

Two of my referees have already submitted their LoRs. So it is unlikely it can be changed.