Gaining Research Experience Outside of Undergrad and A Few Other Questions

tomado

Gaining Research Experience Outside of Undergrad and A Few Other Questions

Post by tomado » Sat Nov 05, 2016 12:28 am

Hey all,

I'm new to posting to these forums, but have enjoyed the content for a while. Figured it was time to ask questions I've had for some time, as I'll be applying to grad schools next year.

A bit of background: I graduated from undergrad in 2009 from a small school with a 3.9+ GPA, BS Physics, Minor Math...but little research experience. Since undergrad, I've had a wealth of life experience - military leadership positions, deployment, Seminary certificate, and a few years at a big science company. Looking over other profiles of students who have been accepted in years past, it seems like they have significant research and publications. I suppose I would list my research experience out on an application as follows (most recent at top):

- Volunteer research assistant at a local big name University in Computer Science for about 6 months (kinematic modeling/visualization - mostly work in Python and a bit C++, in Virtual Reality!)
- 2 years with a big science company as a Lab Tech, then Lab Research Physicist (first author of one invention submission, co-author 3 other IS, not sure if they are going to patent - maybe not at this point)
- Undergrad research related to the kinematic modeling

My big concerns are:
- little research experience academically, but some in corporate
- recent research only lightly related to physics
- no publications (but invention submissions, probably won't go to patent)

Questions (for top programs):
1) Does corporate research look equivalent/as good/nearly as good as academic research?
1a) If not, I'm fresh out of ideas to get academic research now...any thoughts?
2) How are Invention Submissions viewed compared with publications?