Research in Quantum Computing?

PathIntegrals92

Research in Quantum Computing?

Post by PathIntegrals92 » Sat Oct 11, 2014 11:59 am

Hey Everyone,
I am currently working on application/statements. Well actually my statements are very general because I don't really have a list yet. I wanted wait until my pgre scores came out to come up with a list...

The schools I do have are more in the top 70 range ( mostly for CME and HEP-EX). My background is in HEP-TH ( 2 projects).

I am very interested in studying and doing research in quantum computing. I have spent some time reading through Preskill lectures and various books. I also LOVED quantum mechanics during my undergrad (took 4 semesters)! The thing is, whenever I google "research in quantum computing" or something like that the institutions that come up are all extremely competitive! Places like MIT, Berkeley, Caltech etc.

Other people have asked this question and the answers are the same type of institutions. I know this area is rather new so the places that have research in this area are limited, but I was hoping if someone here knows of other schools? Preferably in the U.S ( I am a domestic student).

I was hoping to do direct research in quantum computing. I have looked at places that have condensed matter experiments that would have applications to quantum computing/information.

Catria

Re: Research in Quantum Computing?

Post by Catria » Sat Oct 11, 2014 4:51 pm

So USC is not for you then?

PathIntegrals92

Post by PathIntegrals92 » Sat Oct 11, 2014 5:36 pm

Oh I should have completed that list. I sort of lumped USC with MIT, Berkeley, Caltech, Waterloo, Harvard. ...

I heard many great things about USC Lockhead Martin Quantum Computation center, and I am sure admission for that would be competitive.

I wanted to wait for my PGRE to decide whether or not to apply there. **I had applied and was rejected by USC last year, so I really really am hoping for an increase in PGRE**.

bfollinprm