Everyone seems like having years of research experience!!

huyphan93

Everyone seems like having years of research experience!!

Post by huyphan93 » Fri Mar 07, 2014 11:56 pm

As I skimmed through the profiles of prospective physics student this year, I was amazed (and a little bit horrified) by the amount of research experiences they had (1 year in something else, another 2 years in something else, with some publications). I am an international student (junior) from a small liberal art college in the US with no physics reputation, and only have one short summer project (3 weeks at my home institution -> submitted paper(3rd author)), one semester long project (at home institution with my professor -> published paper (3rd author...)) and another upcoming internship at Fermilab. What should I do to compensate for my lack of experience? It seems too late now. I'm scared actually.

P/S: I was offered an internship at Fermilab both for the IPM program (for foreign nationals in US) and Lee Teng Program, but I don't know which should I choose. If anyone used to participate in those programs, please give me some props, I will have to decide soon.

Thank you for your help.

quizivex

Re: Everyone seems like having years of research experience!!

Post by quizivex » Sat Mar 08, 2014 2:39 pm

huyphan93 wrote:As I skimmed through the profiles of prospective physics student this year, I was amazed (and a little bit horrified) by the amount of research experiences they had (1 year in something else, another 2 years in something else, with some publications).
huyphan93 wrote:only have one short summer project (3 weeks at my home institution -> submitted paper(3rd author)), one semester long project (at home institution with my professor -> published paper (3rd author...)) and another upcoming internship at Fermilab
Is this a joke? You seem to have just as good a research background as the people you're horrified of!

huyphan93

Post by huyphan93 » Sat Mar 08, 2014 8:50 pm