Chances of getting an REU next summer

MrsNemesis

Chances of getting an REU next summer

Post by MrsNemesis » Sun Jun 24, 2012 3:15 pm

I'm a domestic white female with a 3.30 gpa. I'm at a large state school with a decent physics program, but not many opportunities for research. I'm a freshman major-wise, technically a junior because I'm already done with all of my lower-division general ed, but a little behind because my A.A. was in Language Arts and then I decided to go the complete opposite direction and major in physics. Also, I don't think it'll have any effect, but I'm 18 years old and I was 17 when I got my A.A., but it's not in physics so it's pretty irrelevant. What do you think my chances are for getting an REU next summer, assuming my grades stay in the same range?

stengah

Re: Chances of getting an REU next summer

Post by stengah » Mon Jun 25, 2012 2:00 am

Getting an REU is difficult. Some universities report getting 500+ applicants for roughly 10 spots. The lowest I have ever heard of is 70 applicants for 7 spots. For this reason, it can often be advantageous to apply to non-NSF funded summer research programs. They tend to get less applicants because they don't bare the REU name and aren't on the REU list on the NSF website. These exist at NASA, some national labs, and some universities too. But research is research, it doesn't matter what it's called. They are bit harder to find, so start looking early.