Summer senior year research count?

CyberShot

Summer senior year research count?

Post by CyberShot » Thu May 20, 2010 4:56 am

Hi I'm a sophomore and I'm barely getting into research now. I plan to do an REU next summer , Junior year, and one after that, Senior year. Do grad schools even get to look at what you did Senior year summer? If so, that would mean we basically only have 3 summers to do research. freshman, soph, junior!

Thanks.

Quantum Triviality

Re: Summer senior year research count?

Post by Quantum Triviality » Thu May 20, 2010 9:16 am

Well, how many years do you plan on going to undergrad?

If we use the designation "senior" as someone is graduating (regardless of number of years), then the summer after senior year WILL NOT count towards graduate school. Your applications to graduate school will be due in Dec/Jan of your senior year and you will know around March what schools you got into. When I applied for REU's I didn't find out until March... so that information won't help you.

Also, when I did REU's I distinctly remember a rule that no students who had graduated undergrad could be in them.

quark314

Post by quark314 » Tue Jun 01, 2010 2:26 pm

Quantum Triviality wrote:Also, when I did REU's I distinctly remember a rule that no students who had graduated undergrad could be in them.
of course there are many other options for research besides REUs...

In any case, QT is right. Work you do the summer before you attend grad school (whether that happens to be the summer after your senior year or not) will do you no good on your grad school applications since you will already know where you're going to grad school before you start that summer's research.