REU as a freshman?

Toodles

REU as a freshman?

Post by Toodles » Tue Oct 27, 2009 11:30 pm

Hi all,

I'm currently a freshman at a fairly well known liberal arts school with a strong physics program. Given this, doing research here over the summer isn't much of an option. Is it common for students who have only completed their freshman year to be admitted into an REU / other summer research program? I should have As in physics and math.

I will have taken General Physics (including special relativity), Multivariate Calculus, Differential Equations, and have self studied a bit of Linear Algebra. I also will have taken a programming course, and after it I will have 10 weeks of experience with Python, and 4-5 weeks of experience with Haskell and Java.

Thanks!

nathan12343

Re: REU as a freshman?

Post by nathan12343 » Wed Oct 28, 2009 12:46 am

It may be difficult. Start working on the applications right now, attempt to secure STRONG recommendation letters, preferably from professors, and apply to a large number of programs. It is in some ways more difficult to get into an REU than it is to get into grad school, so be aware of that.

quizivex

Post by quizivex » Wed Oct 28, 2009 1:44 am

As I recall, most REU websites I visited said only sophs and juniors can apply. Even those are heavily biased towards juniors, since they have much more background and (as mentioned in one of my rejection letters) it's their last chance for a summer research program. The odds for everyone at any REU program (except girls/minorities) are extremely small. There are so many good students applying for so few spots (usually 10 or less), and seemingly half or more of them are reserved for the underrepresented groups...

Search through the forum for past discussions about experiences with REU applications.