Taking a Year Off--where should I work?

theoretical_phys

Taking a Year Off--where should I work?

Post by theoretical_phys » Sun May 03, 2009 9:44 am

So, I have been on this forum since I was a sophomore in college. I always thought that I would be ready for graduate school as soon as I graduated, but things typically don't turn out as planned. I'm currently a senior (graduating in under a week), and I decided to take off one year in order to better prepare my graduate school applications, get a little more research experience, study for the GREs, etc.

Now comes the question: What in the hell should I do?!

I was offered two research jobs. However, I have a very big dilemma (of course!). The first job is safe. It is at a large state school, and I would be working as a research associate in physical chemistry. It is a guaranteed 10-12 month internship. To me, this job sounds like it would give me very good experience and be beneficial even though I am not interested in pursuing graduate studies in physical chemistry. I didn't hear responses back from any other facilities, so I accepted this job around three weeks ago (it isn't officially in writing, but I told the department that I would work for them).

BUT. Last Thursday, I received a random and unexpected email from a second job. This second job....is kind of my dream job. I want to go to graduate school in astrophysics or study some form of experimental cosmology. I was offered an internship at Fermilab in an Experimental Astrophysics group. The catch is that the group can only guarantee funding for 10 weeks in the Summer. I was told that I have over a 50% chance of obtaining funding after the summer, but it is still a little uncertain. Once I I begin working at Fermilab and the group becomes more acquainted with me (and my work), I was told that the members could push for the extended funding with better luck.