It seems as if my SOP is too short. Can anyone tell me what to add?

Yiiiiii

It seems as if my SOP is too short. Can anyone tell me what to add?

Post by Yiiiiii » Sat Nov 19, 2016 1:29 pm

Hi, :D :D :D :D

I looked at the posts about SOP on this forum. It seems to me that everyone's SOP is quite long. Roughly 1.5 pages and 800 words.
Mine is only 500 words. It is approximately a full page. I am quite worried about being under-sized. Do I really forget to mention anything? Or what should I add into my essay??

I paste my writing below. Can anyone please critique?
Thanks!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

========================================================================

My name is ABC, and I am a fourth-year physics student at the University of EFG. What fascinates me most in astrophysics are black holes and stars. I would like to research their origin, properties, and impacts to the surrounding systems or the universe, preferably using both the general relativity and the quantum field theory in curved spacetime. The department of astronomy and astrophysics at XYZ University is a world-leader in its field. I believe that it is the best place for people like me, who want to be an active researcher and a future professor in astrophysics.

I became very interested in massive astrophysical bodies shortly after the news from LIGO. Even ordinary people now know that a merger of two black holes generates gravitational waves. However, the cause of the conditions that will allow supermassive black holes mergers is not clear. Under the supervision of Prof. A, I spent a whole summer researching on the dynamics of supermassive binary black holes at the inner parsec-scale. It was a beneficial experience, from which I learned about the galactic dynamics of gas disks, simulation of fluids using smoothed-particle hydrodynamics, and high-performance computational skills like parallelization. It made me choose astrophysics for graduate studies.