Bad Physics GRE Score

MrTurnipHead

Bad Physics GRE Score

Post by MrTurnipHead » Mon Oct 26, 2015 10:41 am

Hi all!

I recently took the PGRE and scored really low: 17%-ile. I'm a really good student at my university: a small liberal arts state school. I have 3.9 Major GPA in physics, and an overall 3.84. I have research experience in theoretical GR(I took the 2nd year graduate class) for my senior thesis at the Honor's College, an REU, and some hands-on experimental work. My General GRE is 167 for math, 159 for reading, and a 3 on writing. I want to go into theoretical gravity, like causal sets or something of that nature(really math heavy). I just really bombed the PGRE.(I haven't taken Thermo, Quantum or Classical at the time. The reason is because the department decided to not offer it until Senior year). Now I'm lost because I don't meet the minimum requirements for many schools. Am I just dumb? Should I just quit physics?

Thanks
A really, really bummed student

adamyos

Re: Bad Physics GRE Score

Post by adamyos » Tue Oct 27, 2015 2:37 am

Hey!