Masters vs Undergraduate Transcript Importance

FlipFlopControl

Masters vs Undergraduate Transcript Importance

Post by FlipFlopControl » Sat Jul 11, 2015 4:50 pm

Hi, I'm currently an undergrad student in Canada. I did very poorly in my first year courses and had a 1.x GPA, but then in 3rd/4th year I got my act together and had a 4.0, so my overall GPA is 3.51.

I recognize that this is quite low, and since I want to go into condensed matter theory, I likely won't make it into a PhD program in the U.S. (especially considering I count as an international student). I was wondering if any of you knew how doing a masters program affects your admissions? Is your undergraduate weighted less/does it look better? Or does it work against you, as a masters in the US seems to basically be not completing your PhD. Or is it highly dependent on the graduate school you apply to?
Thank you, let me know if you need further info.

astroprof

Re: Masters vs Undergraduate Transcript Importance

Post by astroprof » Sun Jul 12, 2015 1:23 pm

There are many good reasons to enter into a Masters-only graduate program, and providing evidence of academic success after a poor start as an undergraduate is one of them. However, it sounds like you have already made this point, if you have 4.0 averages in your last two years as an undergraduate. Getting similar grades as a masters student will not have a significant impact on your application, as most graduate courses give A's and B's (anything less than a B is considered 'not passing' for most US graduate programs).