Having a bad start in college

playoff

Having a bad start in college

Post by playoff » Tue Jul 15, 2014 6:25 pm

Hello, I came to ask for some advice.

I'm a rising freshman who just finished two 6-week condensed summer courses and is taking another online course right now. The two classes I took were calc 2 and a course called mathematical structures, and regrettably I ended with a B+ and a B respectively on those courses, giving me a starting GPA of 3.19.

I try to stay encouraged, but frankly the statistics from this page discourages me: it seems like to get into a top grad school, you need at least 3.9 GPA and 900+ PGRE with tons of research and great recommendation letters. On top of that, my adviser tells me that a lot of people straight up fail math methods in physics II and quantum mech I, which scares me a bit too.

I'm planning to graduate a year early, which leaves me the upcoming freshman and sophomore year to fix this mess, since it looks like final year's GPA doesn't go in. Do I have enough time to get my GPA up to a competitive level?

I'm shooting at Caltech, UC Berkeley, and Stanford, arguably (or unarguably?) the best physics grad programs in Cal.

TakeruK

Re: Having a bad start in college

Post by TakeruK » Tue Jul 15, 2014 7:09 pm

Here's my advice:

1. The profile page on this website is very useful as long as you remember that they are incomplete and very biased. Generally, the better the profile, the more likely someone will post it (or even find this website) so seeing what profiles get into schools can tell you what a successful profile could look like. However, it does not say anything about the minimum to get accepted--that is, the "weakest" accepted profile on this site is probably still in the top half of accepted students.