What are my chances?

Sats

What are my chances?

Post by Sats » Wed May 21, 2014 9:00 pm

Hello, new to this forum, so excuse me if I'm forgetting some protocol.

Anyways, I'm an undergraduate at University of Arizona, and will be going into my last year there.
I'm a physics,math, and french major looking to go into grad school for physics, preferably high energy/particle/qft.

The thing is though, my GPA isn't super great. I've been kinda lazy and have been letting A's slip into B's too often, and this semester my 2nd Electrodynamics semester had a crazy difficult final which turned my A into a C (70% of the final was about an in-class example a month prior, wasn't expecting it). Anyways, I'm sitting at a 3.55 overall, where the constituents are: 4.0 in french, 3.5 in math, and 3.2 in physics. I've gotten A's in quantum mechanics, particle/nuclear physics, and computational, so I don't feel super bad about anything, but I guess I'm still worried.

I've been doing research on limit setting of ATLAS data from the LHC and will continue until the end of my final semester.

Not looking to go into anything prestigious, but I was thinking of studying abroad in France for my master's.

I guess what I'm asking is:
What level of grad school should I be looking for?
How competitive is my GPA/stuff?

stengah

Re: What are my chances?

Post by stengah » Fri May 23, 2014 6:56 am

I think the PGRE will play a larger roll in your application than it does for other people. Your GPA is low, but you also had 3(?) majors. If you do well on the PGRE, it could probably offset your GPA a bit and show that you still have a strong ability in physics. So if you do decently on that, I would guess that you could be shooting for schools ranked in the 20-40 range by U.S. News. Your experience sounds pretty good, so I'm also assuming you will get good letters of recommendation.