Math - to major or not to major?

pseudoscalar

Math - to major or not to major?

Post by pseudoscalar » Mon Apr 08, 2013 12:28 am

Hi all,
I'm currently a sophomore majoring in physics, looking to do a PhD someday. I am doing OK in both physics classes and research. Lately I have been taking upper level math classes such as abstract algebra. Since the math major requirements at my school have a good overlap with physics, it won't be difficult to declare a math major as well. My concern, however, is that I'm not doing as well in math as I am in physics. So far I've been able to maintain a ~3.9+ GPA in physics, but looking from the grades to my math exam, I will probably average a ~3.7 in math if I keep taking more math classes, because the curve is simply more difficult in math. Will this look bad to prospective grad schools? In other words it better to try and get less than stellar results, or not try at all? I'm more interested in experimental atomic physics, so at first I shook off this concern, but since the competitive GPA level to get into a top grad school seems to be rising over the years, this started to trouble me.

I could probably fill up my time with easy non-scientific classes which give me easy As, but math is just more interesting (in its own right), even though it's harder.

Kinbote

Re: Math - to major or not to major?

Post by Kinbote » Mon Apr 08, 2013 1:55 am

The major is not as essential as the courses - schools don't care if you have a math degree, but they do care that you have enough math background to pursue a Ph.D. So take the relevant coursework, but don't worry too much about having a math major as well.

It is certainly better to try, any day. It demonstrates a willingness to take risks and a desire to learn. Plus, this is what you'll be doing in grad. school anyway - trying to pick up concepts and methods that help you in your research, and more often than not this won't be straightforward.