Courseload vs GPA?

CommonerCoffee

Courseload vs GPA?

Post by CommonerCoffee » Thu Dec 29, 2011 5:05 am

Hello, everyone. Been lurking around here for a while and I feel like it's about time I started a profile.

I'm a freshman at a top 15ish liberal arts college about to enter my second semester and my spring schedule is currently looking like:

Methods of Experimental Physics (This is my school's lab class that follows Modern Physics)
Intro Chemistry
Intro Chinese
Linear Algebra

This is 4.5 credits (I have no idea how that translates into credit hours or units) and I was thinking about adding Classical Mechanics to the schedule, but I'm afraid that I might be overwhelming myself too early. So my question ultimately is, do graduate schools care about the intensity of the courses taken for the major or is the GPA more important for admission purposes? I am pretty sure I can finish my prospective double major in math and physics with the rest of my years at undergraduate so maybe I would be rushing things if I were to add Classical Mechanics.

Any opinions?

Hellas

Re: Courseload vs GPA?

Post by Hellas » Thu Dec 29, 2011 12:25 pm