it seems impossible, but might impossible be nothing really?

ceart

it seems impossible, but might impossible be nothing really?

Post by ceart » Wed Aug 03, 2011 4:22 pm

hi,
i am a recently graduated computer engineer.
i was a really bad student and i have completed 4 years b.sc. education in 8 years.
now i want to ask by apologizing for wasting your time:
is it possible to work hard for gre physics and become admitted for a physics m.sc education in somewhere on earth?
dr s or professor's do not like lazy students i guess, but is there a possibility?
thanks for reading

negru

Re: it seems impossible, but might impossible be nothing really?

Post by negru » Wed Aug 03, 2011 6:32 pm

you're welcome, it was a very good read. apology accepted.

WhoaNonstop

Post by WhoaNonstop » Thu Aug 04, 2011 12:39 pm

Why do you want to switch to Physics even?

-Riley

bfollinprm

Post by bfollinprm » Thu Aug 04, 2011 2:09 pm

There are likely several places that will accept you No Matter What for a masters, since you're paying them tuition and all. You can even do some masters programs online (I actually only know that's the case for U Washingtons Applied Math, but I bet there are physics programs too). They'll be basically worthless, but I'm sure someone will take you.

If you're intent is to get into a PhD program on the back of that masters, I have to tell you, "tough luck."* There's no way a year of graduate coursework (even with a 4.0) makes up for an awful undergraduate record. Your best bet would be (a) get another bachelors (in physics this time) in 2 years with a 3.8+ or (b) work with a (notable) professor from a PhD granting institution for free for a couple years, and apply on the strength of an OUTSTANDING recommendation from that professor. For this to work though you'd need to (a) publish, and (b) be extremely useful.