problem with first degree gpa.

prem

problem with first degree gpa.

Post by prem » Sat Oct 09, 2010 1:55 pm

Hi....i am an international student doing bachelor's in physics in US.I have two bachelor degrees..
Bachelor's in engineering in india
Bs physics (graduating in 2011)

physics gpa-3.9
pgre-990
quant-800
verb-730 8)
very good research in HEP..good number of publications in related field.
I am going to apply for phd in HEP(theory) in top univs.but the prob is i have a very low engineering gpa (2.7) :shock: .but it has no physics courses except 3 math courses in which i got A A & C.

Will the univ ppl consider a degree which has no physics courses??
Will this first degree gpa affect my admission??.without which i think i have pretty good chances.But am really tensed about my first degree.

please help me out :|

geshi

Re: problem with first degree gpa.

Post by geshi » Sat Oct 09, 2010 2:13 pm

prem wrote: Will the univ ppl consider a degree which has no physics courses??
Will this first degree gpa affect my admission??.without which i think i have pretty good chances.But am really tensed about my first degree.
They will place ALL emphasis on your first degree which is almost completely irrelevant to physics.

The take home message: no.

Second take home message if you didn't like the first: Mention it in your SOP if you're THAT worried about it. "Oh I was just so immature when I got my first degree, I never learned to study and I skipped a lot of class. I've gotten much better as you can tell!"

WhoaNonstop

Post by WhoaNonstop » Sat Oct 09, 2010 2:27 pm

Is the Physics degree based on the Engineering degree, or is it completely outside of that? If these degrees were at different schools, I would suggest not reporting the Engineering degree. It has no relevance to Physics graduate school anyways.

-Riley

prem

Post by prem » Sat Oct 09, 2010 2:39 pm