Anyone with a similar profile?

bears78

Anyone with a similar profile?

Post by bears78 » Fri Jan 08, 2010 7:22 pm

Hello all,

It's my first time posting but i've been reading awhile. I'm graduating from Berkeley with degrees in Physics and Economics and have decided to apply to medical physics programs, particularly Columbia since my fiancé is planning to attend NYU law at the same time. My question is this, when grad schools are looking for a major gpa (the only one, I've been told, that really matters), are they including lower division or just upper division? I have a 4.0 through lower division but came on some hard times outside of school my junior year and my gpa suffered for it. I'll be graduating with a total major gpa of 3.72 but an upper of 3.53. I haven't officially taken the PGRE or GRE but I have taken the practice classes and consistently score in the 90% (PGRE) and higher on the GRE. I got lucky and got hired at LBL as the only non-PhD working on the new particle accelerator doing actual design work in MCNPX. I haven't published anything but I have given a couple presentations and have strong letters of recommendation and a lot of community service (tutoring, inner-city volunteer work, etc.). I also have a couple medical devices I'm hoping to file patents for after trials come back. That's pretty much all I got. Do you think that GPA is too low? I have a C+ that's pulling it down from that rough patch last year. Is it worth explaining? Oh, and I've worked full-time my whole college career so I obviously don't have the same advantages of those who can afford not to but I'm not sure admission boards care about my sob stories haha. What do you guys think? Anyone with similar specs actually get accepted to top 10 schools? Thanks for your time guys!

grae313

Re: Anyone with a similar profile?

Post by grae313 » Sat Jan 09, 2010 2:18 am

bears78 wrote:Hello all,