CC -> University Concerns

Orthogonal_Vector

CC -> University Concerns

Post by Orthogonal_Vector » Sun Mar 19, 2017 2:57 pm

Hello all,

I am a prospective physics graduate student, about to graduate from high school and begin college this fall. As my decisions are pouring in, I've been accepted to some schools in the UC system (I'm a California resident) that I'd like to attend, but my financial situation prevents me from living on-campus. Thus, I've been considering going to community college to complete my prerequisite courses whilst working, and then transferring a UC, such as UC Berkeley.

My concern, however, is how this will affect how graduate schools view my application, relative to my peers going all 4 years at the same university? Also, for anyone who has trekked the same path, was it difficult to adjust to the new upper-level coursework of the university coming in from CC? Finally, as I would like to engage in physics research of any sort as an undergraduate, will transferring from CC limit my opportunities within the university or to get an REU?

Thank you.

quarkcharmer

Re: CC -> University Concerns

Post by quarkcharmer » Sun Mar 19, 2017 8:59 pm

I wouldn't worry. Just work hard. I transferred from CC to UCSB and I did research at Caltech during the summer before senior year. I also was just awarded the NSF GRFP and I'm going to graduate school for the upcoming fall.

IMSSEQMC

Post by IMSSEQMC » Sun Mar 19, 2017 11:16 pm

Edited a bit (8:55PM):

Hi, disclaimer I'm a current undergraduate who also transferred from CC to UCSB, less successful (but not hopeless and ideas of success vary widely anyway) and applying to grad school next year.

I have many thoughts on this subject, but I'd reiterate the above that it probably won't matter too much. To answer your questions directly: