3.7GPA, 670 PGRE, school rankings?

LovePassion

3.7GPA, 670 PGRE, school rankings?

Post by LovePassion » Tue Sep 13, 2016 6:45 pm

Hi, I have a 3.7GPA overall, in physics, and in math (double major in physics and math). I come from a no name liberal arts university with no graduate program in physics or math, I have 3 internships but in experimental work and with no publications. And yes I am a US student.

What rankings for physics graduate school can I apply to? I am interested in theoretical condensed matter physics (PhD of course). E.g., should apply to some top 10s, top 40s, top 100s,..? What are my chances?

Some points to consider in application:
- Roughly 3.7 GPA physics, 3.7 math, 3.7 overall (I tend to naturally get A- which is why I have a uniform distribution of grades lol)
- 670 PGRE (1st time), should have prepared earlier...
- 153/151 Quantitative and Reading portion of GRE (1st time) respectively, again should have prepared more.
- Self studied and guided independent project in group theory before I took abstract algebra. Other self study in advanced subject but not official.
- 3 internships in experimental physics in different fields, no publication.
- Domestic student.
- Honestly could have done much more but I was pouring my energy into experiment and random things rather than theory which I regret.
- Other awards, scholarships, accomplishments in competitions, none that will take you off your seat in particular.
Don't like to give specifics for the sake of privacy, but overall my application shows a personality of high ambition, energy, activity, and passion.
Last edited by LovePassion on Fri Nov 25, 2016 10:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

TakeruK

Re: 3.7GPA, 990PGRE, school rankings?

Post by TakeruK » Tue Sep 13, 2016 10:38 pm