HET - Help narrow down/critique list

kenyans

HET - Help narrow down/critique list

Post by kenyans » Thu Nov 06, 2014 3:01 am

Hi everyone. I think I'm in a bit of a unique situation so I was hoping to get some advice on fixing my list of schools. I did my undergraduate degree in electrical engineering (EE) and then started doing my Master's degree in EE before deciding late in my first semester that I wanted to switch to physics. I was on track to finish my EE Master's in one year, but that didn't end up happening (adviser didn't approve my thesis) and I officially switched to physics in the summer of 2014. Since I decided too late into last year to switch to physics, I could not apply to PhD at different schools at the time and Purdue was gracious enough to accept me into their Master's program. I am on track to finish my Master's in physics in May 2015 and am looking into options of continuing onto my PhD in Physics elsewhere. I know I want to do HET, just don't know specifically what area

Undergrad Institution: Purdue - Not a great rep for physics but came here for engineering, for which it is top 10
Major(s): Electrical Engineering (will have Master's in Physics in May)
Minor(s): Physics
GPA in Major: 3.99 undergrad (4.0 grad)
Overall GPA: 3:93 undergrad (4.0 grad)
Length of Degree: 4 years undergrad, 2 grad
Position in Class: Top
Type of Student: Domestic, male, half Chinese, half white

GRE Scores : (revised)
Q: 170 (98%)
V: 158 (78%)
W: 4.5 (82%)
P: 910 (86%) Expected a bit higher, took again in October so will hear back in a few weeks

Research Experience:
- 1 year graduate research in EE (nanoelectronics simulation)
- 2 years undergrad research in EE (spintronics and MEMs) 1 publication, 2nd author out of 3
- 4 summers working as a research assistant at a microelectronics company. 3 publication "acknowledgements", not listed as author
- 1 summer working at Boeing doing EE radiation hardening design. 1 publication, 4th author out of 7+