Observational Cosmology

rahuldatta

Observational Cosmology

Post by rahuldatta » Sat Oct 17, 2009 10:07 pm

Hello members,

Myself Rahul from India. I have an undergraduate degree in Electronics and Communication Engineering from a reasonable college (National Institute of Technology) and presently working for the Indian Space Research Organization.

I wanna pursue a Ph.D. in a field which would involve constraining the modern theories of particle physics through experimental gravitational physics and observational cosmology, i.e., a field which would be some sort of an interdisciplinary between engineering and fundamental physics, in a way providing a bridge between the language of scientists and engineers keeping in mind that theoretical physics badly needs to be shown the right direction through experiments.

Could anyone suggest some good OBSERVATIONAL COSMOLOGY programs?

I am taking the Physics GRE this November 7. My general GRE scores are as follows:
V:640
Q:800
AWA:4(screwed)

I am expecting around 850 in PGRE
I have some reading projects related to Radio astronomy and have a poster presentation.

Thanks in advance.....

rahuldatta

Re: Observational Cosmology

Post by rahuldatta » Sat Oct 17, 2009 10:09 pm

And also what sort of schools should be realistic to target for me in terms of rankings???
Kindly mention the names of the schools if anybody has any info

surjective

Post by surjective » Sun Oct 18, 2009 3:00 am

It sounds like you are interested in instrumentation as it relates to observational cosmology.

U Arizona (I think it's technically their optical engineering and not physics department, but whatever) has a lot of guys working on designing and making super-huge-and-awesome telescopes, including a bunch of parts for LSST, etc.

Stanford is kind of the center for LSST

Berkeley is pretty much a huge center for observational cosmology (CMB experiments, the soon-to-maybe-be-approved supernova sattelite JDEM, the south pole telescope, etc.)