Brown University vs University of California Riverside (PhD)

darshil_doshi

Brown University vs University of California Riverside (PhD)

Post by darshil_doshi » Wed Mar 28, 2018 1:34 pm

Hello,

I am an International student, planning to pursue graduate studies working in HEP Theory.
I have recieved two acceptences so far, from Brown University and University of California Riverside. Brown seems to have a better ranking, better name and bigger department; where as Riverside has a strong and focused phenomenology group.

I am extremely confused at this point. So if anyone has any input or advice on these two places that could help me make a better choice, it would be great help.

TakeruK

Re: Brown University vs University of California Riverside (PhD)

Post by TakeruK » Wed Mar 28, 2018 3:27 pm

Here are some things you could think about in making your choice:

- Research fit. From your description, it sounds like UCR is very good at one thing while Brown might be more general. So, UCR might be better if you really want to work in that thing, but if not, Brown might have more options for you.

- These two schools are also in very very different locations. So don't forget to factor in what type of city/climate/culture where you would be happier and thrive more. Check out the cost of living vs. stipend too and see if you can have a happy life.