Not sure how to estimate my chances (Quantum Info/Comp/Foundations)

Schroedingers2c

Not sure how to estimate my chances (Quantum Info/Comp/Foundations)

Postby Schroedingers2c » Wed Aug 30, 2017 8:16 am

Hello guys,

I am really grateful for this forum. It is a huge source of information and tips. Thanks everyone for that.

So, I am an undergraduate student heading towards the completion of my degrees and want to pursue my interests in Quantum Information Theory/Quantum Computing/Quantum Foundations further. I am not quite sure how to estimate my chances for admission for a PhD. I would highly appreciate it, if you guys could comment my profile and my chances of getting admitted at the schools of my choice. Here's my profile:

Undergrad Institution: One of the biggest german-speaking universities with a very strong experimental quantum physics department (esp. quantum optics)
Major(s): BSc. in Physics, BSc. in Mathematics (full degrees)
Minor(s): None.
GPA in Major: 4.0 (Physics), 4.0 (Mathematics)
Overall GPA: 4.0
Length of Degree: Both 3 years, but started with Mathematics one year later, hence in total 4 years.
Position in Class: Top 5-10 (classes are ~100-200 students)
Type of Student: International

GRE Scores : Will do the test within the next few weeks.
Q: ???
V: ???
W: ???
P: Taking the october 28th exam, expect to score >800-900 having had a quick look at the practice exam.
TOEFL: Will do the test within the next few weeks, but I am confident to score 105-110.

Research Experience:
- I don't know if it counts, but I will have written 2 bachelor theses, both relevant for my graduate purposes.
- Since my PHYS bachelor thesis will be about a topic currently researched by my supervisor, I'll probably get some research experience in the coming months.
- Talk about information as a foundational principle in quantum physics.
- Talk about mathematical aspects of quantum theory.

Awards/Honors/Recognitions: