Seeking a PhD in Physics

• As many already know, studying for the physics GRE and getting accepted into a graduate program is not the final hurdle in your physics career.
  • There are many issues current physics graduate students face such as studying for their qualifier, deciding upon a field of research, choosing an advisor, being an effective teaching assistant, trying to have a social life, navigating department politics, dealing with stress, utilizing financial aid, etc.

appyfizz

Seeking a PhD in Physics

Post by appyfizz » Mon Jul 21, 2014 2:26 am

Hi i am a post graduate in Physics from NIT(CGPA 8.45) and i did my bachelors in Physics from Delhi Univeristy(72%). I want to get a PhD position in some good university abroad but the problem is that my CV looks like that of a writer or a social worker. I have done one internship in Physics during my UG term but is that enough? Also i have worked on a project as part of my course curriculum in my PG studies. I am not sure whether i should go for higher research or not but that seems to be the only career option as of now since i am afraid of working as a teacher in some pvt school now. :( . I tried to personally mail to some profs abroad but they sent a negative reply.
Will getting a decent GRE score help me? or i can avoid writing GRE? i am so much confused at the momemt. Please help me !!!!

catharsis

Re: Seeking a PhD in Physics

Post by catharsis » Wed Aug 06, 2014 4:45 pm

I think the only pertinent piece of advice I would have is that PGRE score seems to matter more for international applicants applying to the US than it does for domestic students. Once you know your score you might be in a better position to consider your chances. Best of luck, I hope it works out!

tlamonty

Post by tlamonty » Wed Mar 23, 2016 5:05 am