Listing Affiliations as a Co-Author

• As many already know, studying for the physics GRE and getting accepted into a graduate program is not the final hurdle in your physics career.
  • There are many issues current physics graduate students face such as studying for their qualifier, deciding upon a field of research, choosing an advisor, being an effective teaching assistant, trying to have a social life, navigating department politics, dealing with stress, utilizing financial aid, etc.

FigNewtonian

Listing Affiliations as a Co-Author

Post by FigNewtonian » Thu May 15, 2014 5:24 pm

I've spent a lot of time searching around the web for basic rules when it comes to listing affiliations as an author on a paper. All I've been able to discern is that nobody agrees as to what exactly counts as an affiliation. My current situation makes this question for me personally a little harder, so let me ask your opinion:

I graduated with my bachelor's degree three years ago. I have since been working in industry (unrelated to my degree). I am planning on attending graduate school this fall but until that time I am still at my industry job. I am a coauthor for a paper to be published sometime in the near future that used my work from when I was in school in 2010. I am planning on listing my undergraduate institution as an affiliate since that's where I was when the work was done. As for my current affiliation, it seems odd to list my future school since I haven't even set foot on campus yet. Do I consider myself to have no affiliation at this time? (I also assume I don't list my current employer since they have nothing whatsoever to do with this work)

Kind of a boring topic since it's all about me--but maybe there will be some useful information discussed about the definition of past and present affiliations, specifically in the field of physics.

Thank you

TakeruK

Re: Listing Affiliations as a Co-Author

Post by TakeruK » Thu May 15, 2014 10:40 pm