Bad grade in Grad School

• As many already know, studying for the physics GRE and getting accepted into a graduate program is not the final hurdle in your physics career.
  • There are many issues current physics graduate students face such as studying for their qualifier, deciding upon a field of research, choosing an advisor, being an effective teaching assistant, trying to have a social life, navigating department politics, dealing with stress, utilizing financial aid, etc.

sumith85

Bad grade in Grad School

Post by sumith85 » Fri Nov 04, 2011 11:55 pm

Hi

I am a new grad student at a US school. Well , I am struggling with one course and did pretty bad on midterm exam. I have to maintain a 3.0 cgpa to maintain my assistantship. If I do get a C in that course, what can I do or what I should do now not to get a C. Please give me some advice if you had gone through such situation.

CarlBrannen

Re: Bad grade in Grad School

Post by CarlBrannen » Sat Nov 05, 2011 12:44 am

Get an "A" in another course, so your average is "B".

Or better, study more realistically for the final.

Now that you know what kind of test you're going to see, start giving yourself practice tests of the same sort. I.e. if they're open notes, start giving yourself tests in open notes situation.

For this to work, you have to make the practice tests as stressful as the real test. You have to really, really, really, care how well you do on those practice tests. You need to really sweat them. Convince yourself that your failing those practice tests could cause your genitals to fall off. (Hey, it's rare, but it's been known to happen.) Then, when you take the real test, spend a little effort to calm yourself down. The objective is to make the practice tests and the real one have the same level of stress. (And that way your brain gets accustomed to working at that stress level.)

bfollinprm

Post by bfollinprm » Sat Nov 05, 2011 11:55 am