PGRE...I want opinions!!

• If you want to know something about the GRE subject test in physics then chances are you will find it in here.
  • If something about the physics GRE it isn't already discussed in here then please put it in here.

Weasel

PGRE...I want opinions!!

Post by Weasel » Wed Mar 16, 2011 4:28 am

I am not a physics major. I studied physics extensively in my spare time because it gave me a better understanding/good metaphors for some statistical work I have done. Also it is one of the only subjects where the objects studied remotely approach the same level of statistical complexity held in their respective symbolic terms (don't get me started on that). I wanted to see how much I know, so I took the practice PGRE that was available on the GRE web site and got a 900. I did it in the time allotted of 2 hours 50 minutes. Is the test posted on the site an easier test? :?:

Of course my hand was practically stuck around my pencil and my head hurt at the end of this test. It is intense!

bfollinprm

Re: PGRE...I want opinions!!

Post by bfollinprm » Wed Mar 16, 2011 6:27 am

Weasel wrote:I am not a physics major. I studied physics extensively in my spare time because it gave me a better understanding/good metaphors for some statistical work I have done. Also it is one of the only subjects where the objects studied remotely approach the same level of statistical complexity held in their respective symbolic terms (don't get me started on that). I wanted to see how much I know, so I took the practice PGRE that was available on the GRE web site and got a 900. I did it in the time allotted of 2 hours 50 minutes. Is the test posted on the site an easier test? :?:

Of course my hand was practically stuck around my pencil and my head hurt at the end of this test. It is intense!